The Featured Homes and Designers
See below for the exact addresses of the homes. The map and addresses are also provided on your ticket and program as well as detailed directions. A GPS is also helpful but not necessary.
A. Taj Mahutch - 606 Mountain View Drive
B. Villa DiMarco - 474 Mountain View Drive
C. Hennepin Hall - 620 Center Street
D. Holiday Vendor Market - 145 North 6th Street
E. The Lewiston Museum - 469 Plain Street
F. The Cozy Quarters - 425 Cayuga Street
G. Barton Hill Hotel and Spa - 100 Center Street
Featured Decorators and Designers
Western New York’s most talented designers and retailers team up to add their creative touch and holiday magic to homes featured on the Lewiston Home Tour. Pictured here in the front row from left to right are Susan Hofert, Gretchen Broderick (The Country Doctor) and Erin Kent (Erin Kent Interiors). In the back row from left to right are Tasia Fitzpatrick, Lori Presti (Sterling Décor), Lynn Stephenson (The Country Doctor), Catherine Rotella (Piccirillo’s Florist) and Toddy St. Laurent (The Country Doctor). Designers not present include John Taylor (Pallister House Floristry and Gifts), Mary Ellen Dwyer-Kimball (The Country Doctor), Linda Adamson (Le Creuset), Patricia Johnson (Patricia’s Back Barn) and Lisa Rizzo (Sterling Décor).
This grand home was appropriately named Taj MaHutch which incorporates the name of the owners (John and Marie Hutchins) and the Taj Mahal, the most famous of grand structures in the world.
The previous home that rested on this land burned in 1988. John Hutchins purchased the property in 1998 and went straight to work designing a 6500 square foot dream home that would reflect his success, his lifestyle and his passion for hunting.
The Hutchins have artfully decorated the interior so that it is both grand and renewing. Several different hardwoods ranging from Brazilian Rosewood to American Cherry grace the floors of the home. Bird’s eye paneled walls warm the living spaces and are further enhanced with four fireplaces throughout. The mahogany wood cabinets in the kitchen were all crafted from the wood of just one tree and all grain runs consecutively.
It is likely that ticket holders will find the Africa Room awe inspiring. Museum quality, full size taxidermy hunted by John Hutchins himself, surrounds the interior of the room accented with rich leather furniture and an expansive fireplace. The large bar is the perfect venue for guests to sip cognac while swapping stories of exciting hunting expeditions in faraway lands. One can easily envision guests retiring to their screening room that features step down seating and a large movie screen with acoustics worthy of a movie theatre.
The home is large enough to comfortably bed and entertain their large blended family who visits often.
Many Western New Yorker’s will remember Hutchins Automotive founded by John’s father. A decade or two ago, John sold the company and he and Marie purchased what was the Rapid’s Theater on Main Street in Niagara Falls. They have transformed it into a most sought after venue for weddings and concerts. In the summer of 2014, they celebrated the grand opening of The Woods at Bear Creek, a 750 acre glamping resort (glamorous camping) near Ellicottville, NY where guests can stay in spacious cabins with all amenities and experience the outdoors with all the comforts of home. The resort also includes Hutch’s on the Lake, a fine dining restaurant featuring wild game and fish and a banquet center that can accommodate up to 275 people for weddings and banquets.
Featured Designers: The Country Doctor
549 Center Street
Lewiston, New York 14092
Follow us on Facebook!
2508 Niagara Street
Niagara Falls, New York 14303
Le Creuset Factory Outlet
1868 Military Road
Niagara Falls, New York 14304
Located in Lewiston Heights, the town’s most prestigious neighborhood, Villa DiMarco was built in 1965. It was purchased by Vince and Debbie DiMarco in 2006. Even though the DiMarco’s own DiMarco Accounting, they love architectural and interior design. They have extensively re-defined the floor plan to the extent that the interior would be unrecognizable to previous owners. They love to take on renovation projects and they certainly have an eye for creating a welcoming and inviting living space.
Their home is 4200 square feet of wow with four bedrooms, four baths and four fireplaces. The kitchen features a sitting area with a white fireplace with inlaid accents, custom made cupboards and an expansive island and a wet bar with two wine coolers and a mirrored backdrop. The kitchen also features a cozy dining alcove, perfect for breakfast on a snowy Christmas morning.
The DiMarco’s stepped outside the box when they forwent a formal dining room and opted for a dining area that is an extension of their living room. They incorporated three over five glass paneled doors that open onto a three season enclosed patio overlooking the 17th hole of the Niagara Falls Country Club golf course. If you look closely at the settings on the dining room table, you will note the lovely dishes from John’s Flaming Hearth which was at one time, Niagara’s most famous restaurant.
At the far end of the living room is a stone fireplace and sitting area that just says cozy when you walk in the door. Cherry hardwood floors are featured throughout the home.
While the DiMarco’s love Villa DiMarco, they are ready to move onto their next renovation challenge. This beautiful home is now on the market through Realty USA.
Pallister House Floristry and Fine Gifts
41 East Avenue
Lockport, New York 14094
Supporting Cast: Menne Nursery and Garden Artistry
3100 Niagara Falls Boulevard
Amherst, New York 14228
The Rectory of St. Peter’s Church, Hennepin Hall has been described as “perfect in architectural detail.” It was erected in 1830 as the home of Judge Sherbourne B. Piper and is one of the most imposing buildings in the Village. Its construction aroused a good deal of interest in the area as it was the first time that cut stone was used in the building of chimneys with each said to have cost one thousand dollars. They now stand, one at each corner of the roof, like sentinels guarding the beautiful Captain’s Walk.
Several intervening residents later, in 1896, the home was converted into a hotel. The second floor was divided into “a number of sleeping apartments and a hall for social amusement.” Several owners after that, in the 1940’s, it became Liddell’s, one of the area’s finest restaurants. In 1952, St. Peter’s Parish purchased the property and gave it its name in honor of Father Louis Hennepin, an early pioneer missionary to the area. A year later it became a parochial school, then a convent and presently it is the Rectory of St. Peter’s Church under the care of Monsignor David LiPluma.
This beautifully crafted home reflects the prominence of the original owner. Among its fine features are charming and elegant morning and afternoon sitting rooms and the west parlor is highlighted with a marble fireplace. The woodwork is original, featuring deep moldings in differing styles. Finely crafted plaster medallions decorate some of the ceilings. Recessed windows, paneled doorways and a graceful winding staircase are well suited to this elegant setting. Hennepin Hall has been superbly maintained and is a jewel that graces Center Street.
Featured Designers and Floral: Sterling Décor
Follow us on Facebook!
The Cozy Quarters
Nestled firmly in Lewiston’s historic district, this comfortable farmhouse is one of three residences built in 1893 by village merchant and businessman, F.S. Whittaker. It has changed hands many times over the years and is now owned by Greg and Jan Czech. Originally from the Town of Wheatfield, the couple was living in Massachusetts when they decided it was time to come home to Western New York. In 2010 they purchased what they hope will be their retirement home. With just two bedrooms, it is the perfect size for these empty nesters but not too small to accommodate their grandson who, to their delight, is a frequent visitor.
Although the home had been completely renovated when they purchased it, Greg, a trucking company executive and Jan, a published children’s writer, wanted to put their stamp on it. The spacious country kitchen now boasts a farm sink, black walnut countertops and pine plank floors while the remodeled downstairs bathroom features a vintage claw foot tub they found in a cottage in Crystal Beach.
Antiques collected by the couple for over forty years furnish the home alongside pieces hand crafted by Greg, who hopes to spend more time on his wood working hobby when he retires. But the farmhouse is not a museum. Jan says that over the years their décor style has undergone many changes ranging from American Country, complete with mini prints on everything and a herd of folk art animals, to English Cottage style resulting in so much clutter it was a challenge to dust it all. As a result, they have simplified their furnishings by keeping what means the most to them.
The Czechs believe that a home should reflect the journey of the people who live there rather than adherence to one decorating style. In their case, the result is an eclectic mix of old and new residing comfortably together.
Featured Designers: Tasia Fitzpatrick and Susan Hofert
Supporting Cast: Patricia's Back Barn
6610 Shawnee Road
North Tonawanda, New York 14120
Follow us on Facebook!